Fighting the Cold and Flu

With the polar vortex having made a large impact on most of the US, and the every changing bi-polar weather of the state I live in, it’s just way too easy to get sick.

I have pretty bad seasonal allergies, my sinuses are easily congested, and with that I get drainage in my throat, I get occasional coughing. TMI, I’m sorry. A lot of people deal with this though. Growing up, my mom’s solution would be to give me a Claratin or a Mucinex and I’d be on my merry way. It worked for the time being.

Now that I’m a little older and more aware of my body I try to do what I can to avoid medication if I don’t need it. I’m working on letting my body do it’s own healing and letting my immune system build up its strength. With that being said I’ve asked others and researched some natural remedies for that annual sniffle and cough, and found some pretty good advice, and I thought I’d share one of my favorites with you today.

get-attachment

I love drinking a warm tea when I’m not feeling too hot. When I was coming to work sounding congested and sick, my boss advised that I try this tea.

Ingredients:

  • Ginger root (cut) 0r a ginger tea bag
  • lemon slices
  • a pinch of cayenne pepper
  • honey

Steep all of the ingredients, and enjoy its benefits.

Although it’s not the most delicious concoction, it’s easy, and it does the job. The cayenne pepper opens those nasal passages back up. The lemon aids in detoxing, so you can get that bug out of your system. The honey creates a coat on your throat to help ease any soreness, and ginger is a wonder food with a large list of benefits. Drink the tea when you feel like you need it, as much as you need it. There’s nothing but goodness in it.

I hope you give it a shot and are able to reap it’s benefits!

xo

*I’m not a doctor or expert in holistic medicine, just very interested in the subject. This is all just purely based on personal experience and findings.

Leave a Reply

