“I don’t have time to workout”

6324f0a9ee4aee1c7366362a1a570bd5

It’s hard to get a workout in everyday. Sometimes things come up and you just don’t have enough time to get to the gym when you need to. Time is money, and most people just don’t have enough of either. That’s why scientist came up with the 7 minute workout.

I was skeptical, because seven minutes sounds like it wouldn’t do a single thing to me, but this workout actually got my heart rate going and metabolism revved up. It’s my new go-to workout when my day is just to busy. It’s perfect when I wake up and need a quick energy boost, or when I’m on my lunch break and need some movement to wake up my muscles from sitting at a desk all day. It energized way better than a cup of coffee in less time than it takes for me to drink one.

This workouts not enough for me to replace my normal workouts with, but it’s a nice compliment to my workouts, and it’s just a really good way to get your metabolism going.

Another reason why it’s so useful is because they’re all body-weight exercises, and all ones that you probably already know how to do. All you need is a chair and your body, and you’re all set.

How it works: There are twelve moves. Each move is performed for 30 seconds (the harder you go in those 30 seconds, the more you’ll benefit). Then you rest for 10 seconds and go on to the next move. Easy enough, right?

The moves are:

  • Jumping jacks
  • Wall-sit
  • Push-ups
  • Crunches
  • Chair step-ups
  • Squats
  • Tricep dips
  • Plank
  • High knees
  • Lunges
  • Push-ups with rotation
  • Side plank (15 sec per side)

So it’s definitely doable. There’s even an app for it for iPhones called 7 Minutes, that does the timing for you and tells you when to switch exercises. Now that you know this exists, you really don’t have an excuse for not getting up and getting moving today. Try it out and let me know how it works for you.

Leave a Reply

